Blog Post · Comm 240

App Review: GroupMe

For the past year, I have been using the app called GroupMe for communicating with friends and classmates.

“GroupMe is a mobile group messaging app owned by Microsoft. It was launched in May 2010 by the private company GroupMe. In August 2011, GroupMe delivered over 100 million messages each month, and by June 2012, that number jumped to 550 million.”

I got GroupMe because when I got into St. Ambrose University there a Class of 2020 group chat where we talked about who needed a roommate, and we got to know each other even before school started. It has been over a year, and now I have about 25 different group chats. Some of my chats are for group projects, various clubs on campus, my dorm, and my different friend groups.

GroupMe makes communicating with friends so easy and fun. The app can be downloaded on any smartphone, and you can access it online.

I am going to tell you about a couple of fun features that GroupMe has. One feature includes sending gifs to the group chats. My friends and I sometimes will just respond in gifs.

giphy

You can also create events. In my friend groups GroupMe, I went through and put everyone’s birthday so that we don’t forget. They all hate me for doing that, but I find it to be very helpful.

Some other cool features include setting a featured image, changing your name in that particular chat, and they have a gallery in each chat so you can see all the images sent to the chat.

My favorite feature of GroupMe is that you can view meme photos. So let’s just say that I post a selfie of myself to the group chat, the group can click on the picture and hit meme. This makes conversations 10x more interesting.

I always hated it when I wanted to create a group chat, but you have that one friend that has an Andriod. With GroupMe, anyone with a smartphone can get it. GroupMe has made communicating with my friends and classmates so much easier and fun.

Download GroupMe today!

giphy (1)

One thought on “App Review: GroupMe

  1. GroupMe is a great App! I love all the features you brought up except how I am the friend who has the android 😦 Android has features the iPhone doesn’t and is so much better but this app brings the two companies together to let all of us communicate with each other!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

